News

Share in the rich history of Catherine Park Estate

Catherine Park House

From Governor Macquarie to Lady Fairfax, the centrepiece of Camden’s newest estate is the famous Catherine Park House.

Positioned high up on the hill, Catherine Park House has been a striking structure of the landscape since its original completion in 1857. After undergoing significant modifications in the 1930s-40s, the Victorian Italianate home’s façade evolved to the Georgian Revival style still seen today.

Catherine Park House is steeped in a varied and fascinating past. The lands surrounding the country manor have historically been used for pastoral and farming purposes. In the 1940s-60s, the grounds were converted into a trotting track, golf course and function centre, and Catherine Park House was used as the golf clubhouse. It even housed an internationally renowned collection of vintage Lotus racing cars in the 1970s. According to urban legend, the late Princess Diana stayed at Catherine Park House during her visit to Australia in 1985.

Although Catherine Park House was in relatively good condition when purchased by Lady Mary Fairfax, the historically-sensitive restoration undertaken in cohesion with Harrington Estates has returned the home back to the majestic charm of a bygone era.

View the before and after images of the Catherine Park House restoration.

Official unveiling of new local ANZAC commemoratio...
The Restoration of Catherine Park House

Related Posts

Enquire today
Fields marked with * are required
Subscribe for Updates
Fields marked with * are required